Absolutely Mad

A still from the Syfy miniseries, Alice.

“Look, I’ll do the flying.  All you have to do is hold on.  Look at me.  I wouldn’t let you do this if I didn’t think you’d be okay.” ~ Andrew-Lee Potts as the Hatter in Alice.

So I had time to kill this afternoon before my internship, which naturally means that I wandered into the DVD section at Wal-Mart and happened upon something I probably shouldn’t have purchased, but did anyway. It’s pretty much what I do when I’m bored and have at least $5 in my bank account that is unaccounted for. Yes, I know it’s a bad habit. But I may as well stock up now while I have the chance, eh?

I’m a little silly in the fact that I will never buy movies I’ve never seen, because I don’t want to get stuck with an investment that falls apart.  But I spotted upon the Syfy mini-series Alice for $15, and I had heard from people who have similar tastes to mine that it was good.  So, since it was considerably inexpensive for a mini-series, I picked it up.  So glad I did.

The first thing I thought of when I started it was that the style and the colors were very much like Tin Man and The Tenth Kingdom.  Now, of course, I understand why- Tin Man was also a Syfy channel mini-series (hey, what do you want, I don’t have cable television).  Having become a fan of the Alice in Wonderland franchise in the last few years (yes, before the Carter-Depp-Burton extravaganza, which, by the way, I enjoyed), I was curious and plopped down on my couch immediately to watch it.

At first, I wasn’t incredibly impressed.  Having a brunette Alice was a twist already (she is always, always, always blonde.  … Always) and now she’s also a black belt in karate?  Um.  Yeah.  Well, non-traditional, at any rate.  I don’t want to insert any spoilers, for those interested in seeing it, but haven’t yet.  But it definitely picked up from there.  And I was about to be incredibly disappointed in the ending, but, I wasn’t.  I was in the middle of texting Bryan “So, Alice was pretty good, but the ending was kind of a let down” when it twisted around again from the traditional take that endings like that have.  Again, I don’t want to give away spoilers, so I’ll say no more.  I was pleasantly surprised.  It’s the sap in me.

Currently, I’m not sure I liked the mini-series because it was well-done, or because I got to ogle at Andrew-Lee Potts.  I have never even heard of this actor before, but the second he came on screen, I fell in love with him.  He was a main character, but didn’t get top billing because he’s not that famous (yet).  Tim Curry is famous, he got top billing, he was in the thing for fifteen seconds. Bah humbug to all that. Anyways. Andrew-Lee Potts. He played the Hatter, and again, not sure if I’m biased because I think my heart melted into a puddle in my chest, but he seemed to do a pretty good job acting.

Scratch that.  They all did a pretty good job.  And I really liked the King of Hearts.  A lot. Such a different take on the character. There was a line, after the Queen of Hearts ordered “off with his head” and walked out of the room, he said “bring him back. By tomorrow she’ll have forgotten she killed him.” Which was funny, but also served a lot to say about both characters. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.

It was definitely a great new twist on a fairytale that is becoming as old as time.  Worth seeing for any fan of the Alice in Wonderland franchise, and for any proper fantasy fan.  If you like things like Tin Man, or even Firefly, Alice is right up your alley.

In other news, I don’t know how frequent future posts are going to be because I am temporarily moving in with someone with significantly comfier beds and a shower with a better hot water heater than mine. I will be living the good life, oh yes. Be jealous.

Hatter, from Syfy's mini-series, Alice.

1 Response to “Absolutely Mad”


  1. 1 saxmei June 13, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    I have to say, he has officially made the list of top ten guys I’d like to teddybear with. ❤


Leave a Reply

tweet-a-twitter-twoo?

something to think about

"You know, I don't know if you'll understand this or not, but sometimes, even when I'm feeling very low, I'll see some little thing that will somehow renew my faith. Something like that leaf, for instance - clinging to its tree despite wind and storm. You know, that makes me think that courage and tenacity are about the greatest values a man can have. Suddenly my old confidence is back and I know things aren't half as bad as I make them out to be. Suddenly I know that with the strength of his convictions a man can move mountains, and I can proceed with full confidence in the basic goodness of my fellow man. I know that now. I know it." ~ End of Act I in the musical You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown.

competing for the house cup

Like what you read? Click here to get the latest posts sent straight to your email!

Join 6 other followers


