Human Connections

Sandbox at Chesterfield Central; April 12, 2010

“Thousands of candles can be lit from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.” ~ Buddha.

A couple of entries ago, I randomly got tagged by what I’m pretty sure was a blog-collector bot, or something like that.  Curious, I went and snooped and, naturally, discovered that there are a lot of grabbed blogs there.  I only clicked on one other one, but I’m glad I did, because this made me smile.

There are a lot of things that perfect strangers have in common.  In the letter that sendingpetals posted, she mentions that (even just simple little things like “I like food, I bet you do too!).  After reading that, I got curious and looked around the blog.  It’s marvelous, really.  They focus on sending letters to people who have been important to them.  I get the impression, though, that they’re having a little bit of trouble starting out, since everyone there is saying “Wow, this is a great idea!” but nobody is doing anything else.

Maybe I’ll write a letter.  But who to send it to?

1 Response to “Human Connections”


  1. 1 sendingpetals June 30, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    Hi Amber!

    Thanks so much for this post, it’s some of the first positive feedback from a stranger we’ve recieved since starting the Sending Petals project from a corner in the library at my university at around midnight on St. Patrick’s Day.

    We hope that you’re still planning on writing a letter, and we hope you send it to us so we can put it up on our site too! At first we found it hard to figure out who to write to, but the longer we do it, the easier it gets to see how many amazing people are out there.

    Hope to hear from you soon! In the meantime, keep writing, I really enjoy your writing. I especially liked reading about your birthday cake baking fiasco/eventual success!

    Have a great day,
    The girl from Sending Petals


Leave a Reply

something to think about

"You know, I don't know if you'll understand this or not, but sometimes, even when I'm feeling very low, I'll see some little thing that will somehow renew my faith. Something like that leaf, for instance - clinging to its tree despite wind and storm. You know, that makes me think that courage and tenacity are about the greatest values a man can have. Suddenly my old confidence is back and I know things aren't half as bad as I make them out to be. Suddenly I know that with the strength of his convictions a man can move mountains, and I can proceed with full confidence in the basic goodness of my fellow man. I know that now. I know it." ~ End of Act I in the musical You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown.

competing for the house cup

Like what you read? Click here to get the latest posts sent straight to your email!

Join 6 other followers


