Reading, Writing, and ‘Rithmatic.

Amanda reading the program for "The Letter" in the Green Room.

“I’m so excited / and I just can’t hide it. / I’m about to lose control / and I think I like it.” ~ I’m So Excited by the Pointer Sisters.

There is something about that song that disturbs me.  Every time I read the lines above, I relate it to something different.  At the moment, the image in my mind is that of a hyper-active puppy meeting an apple-red fire hydrant.  That image, naturally, is not the one I want to convey; the song always gets into my head when I am thinking about something I am excited for.

I am excited for tomorrow.  Tomorrow is Saturday.  That in itself should be enough of a perk.  I am not working tomorrow, which, despite my lack-of-paycheck this last week, is still a nice respite.  I will also be seeing Sammy tomorrow, which, in this case, I am excited for.  See, we have plans.  We are going to be writing (unless something changes).  I am bringing my typewriter (erm, and my laptop) and I am going to finish editing chapter four of Fate.  For real this time.  Maybe.

I haven’t written properly in a while.  Every once and a while, I’ll pump out a piece of flash fiction, but hardly anything worth noting.  I think I’m burnt out from writing, which is terribly, but I’m finding every excuse not to do it.  Really.  Every excuse.  I feel like I’m in elementary school again, fighting with myself to do homework.  The only way I could summon up enough willpower to do my math homework in elementary and middle school was to tell myself that if I did five problems, I could read five pages of insert-Tamora-Pierce-novel-here.  After about an hour, the math homework would usually be complete.  It was an intricate rewards system that is no longer effective now that I am in college.

Seriously, though.  Writing feels like work.  I blame my writing classes.  My college writing classes haven’t been useless, per se.  The teachers have all been very helpful.  But the students are all just like me (or the have as much enthusiasm as me, at any rate).  We’re all tired.  We did the work, just barely, so now can we go back to bed?  It’s not that I’m lazy, it’s that I worked five hours at my other job today, then I had three classes, and I was up until three am trying to get homework done and I’m just not used to putting this much stress on my body.  So much to do, so little motivation.

Tomorrow, I am telling myself, will be different.  I will finish edits on chapter four of Fate.  My brother is watching Alice in Wonderland right now; maybe I’ll go join him and get motivated for Absolutely Mad.  I have a million options; all I need to do is sit in front of my computer and write (not go online).  I think Sammy will help me keep focused, and maybe I can help her keep focused.

Or, at least, amuse her with the typewriter.

4 Responses to “Reading, Writing, and ‘Rithmatic.”


  1. 1 ceylanthewriter June 5, 2010 at 9:54 am

    I know exactly what you mean.

    That’s what happened to me this year with AP Biology. Fun, but I’m burnt out, so I couldn’t do anything else….

    I wish us both luck with buckling down and writing.

    Sincerely,

    Ariel Ceylan

  2. 2 saxmei June 6, 2010 at 12:57 am

    :-/ I’m sorry you couldn’t stay longer today! Later on, I showed my mother that she had even written it on HER calendar that you were coming over tonight. My Nanny decided to spring it on us last minute that she was taking us to dinner. We need to do a REAL writers day as soon as school gets out. Hopefully you’ll be done with chapter 4 by then *pokepoke*, but just incase. Sorry again. I was excited too, since like you said, we could keep eachother on task. So new date: hm. How ’bout you tell me when you’re off, and we’ll plan from there?

    • 3 slytherclawchica June 6, 2010 at 1:21 am

      Um. Off. Funny concept. I’ll let you know when next week’s schedule appears, especially because *dancey* I’ll be in Keene then! For a little while. SO excited. 😀 😀

      I have tennn pagesssss to rewriteeee. I did do ONE today, though. Stupid Jyla. Love her character, her voice is so darned difficult for me.

    • 4 slytherclawchica June 6, 2010 at 1:22 am

      Oh. And don’t worry about your mum. It happens. I was pleased that your father wasn’t terrifying today. And I ended up having a great night with Bryan, and you got yummy foods, and we still got to hang out, and you have temporarily acquired a typewriter. I’d say it was (for me) a Saturday well-spent. 😀


Leave a Reply

tweet-a-twitter-twoo?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

something to think about

"You know, I don't know if you'll understand this or not, but sometimes, even when I'm feeling very low, I'll see some little thing that will somehow renew my faith. Something like that leaf, for instance - clinging to its tree despite wind and storm. You know, that makes me think that courage and tenacity are about the greatest values a man can have. Suddenly my old confidence is back and I know things aren't half as bad as I make them out to be. Suddenly I know that with the strength of his convictions a man can move mountains, and I can proceed with full confidence in the basic goodness of my fellow man. I know that now. I know it." ~ End of Act I in the musical You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown.

competing for the house cup

Like what you read? Click here to get the latest posts sent straight to your email!

Join 6 other followers


