Muchies are Win: Mexican Wedding Cookies

Eddie organising his Pokemon cards.

May 20, 2010; Chesterfield, NH: My brother organising his Pokemon cards. Upped brightness and contrast and added a spotlight affect in CS3.

“Think what a better world it would be if we all, the whole world, had cookies and milk about three o’clock every afternoon and then lay down on our blankets for a nap.” ~ Robert Fulghum.

I’ve noticed that a lot of people are talking about the oil spill. I thought about talking about it, but I don’t feel like I’m accredited to talk about such things: I’m not a reporter and I don’t live there. My sources would be secondhand sources that anyone could find by Googling the words “oil spill in the Gulf”. So I decided to give up my chance at fame and fortune and being featured and instead I am going to write about my afternoon. There’s no point in me pretending to be or know about things I don’t.

Cookie Dough from the first batch!

So this is what I did today. I made cookies. Lots of cookies, and it was an adventure. See, first, I had to go to the grocery store, at noontime in Brattleboro. Brattleboro is one of those towns that doesn’t slow down for no one, or nothing. So that was an interesting drive, but I ended up leaving unscathed, ingredients and all.

I had decided to make two kinds of cookies: Jam Thumbprints and Mexican Wedding Cookies. I’m not a huge fan of the Thumbprints, but I really enjoy the Wedding Cookies. The Thumbprints were for my Mom.

Om nom! Dough from the third batch!

So. It took four hours altogether, but we ended up with two batches of cookies! They’ll probably be all gone in a couple days. Why? Because they’re Mexican Wedding Cookies. Mexican Wedding cookies are kind of like normal chocolate chip cookies in flavour and design, save for two major differences. 1.) When they come out of the oven, you coat them in powdered sugar; and 2.) they melt in your mouth. I’m not saying “they’re so good it feels like they melt in your mouth. I’m saying that they literally fall apart in your mouth as you eat them. They’re delightful and delicious.

There’s only five ingredients in Mexican Wedding cookies: flour, butter, powdered sugar, mini chocolate chips, and vanilla. Lots and lots of powdered sugar- both in and outside of the cookies. They’re one of the easiest cookies I know how to make, and definitely a family favourite. For people who don’t like chocolate, the mini chocolate chips are easily replaced with chopped walnuts (actually, I think my family altered the recipe to put in chocolate chips and its supposed to be made with chopped walnuts). So here it is, because I know it by heart, the recipe.

.

2 cups butter or margarine.
2/3 cup powdered sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
4 cups flour
1 cup miniature chocolate chips.

You preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Mix the butter first, then add powdered sugar and vanilla, then flour, then chocolate chips. You roll the cookie dough into 1″-balls about 1” apart. It’s one of those nice recipes where the dough doesn’t expand much. Use an ungreased baking sheet and cook for 20 minutes. When you take them out, let them cool for about ten minutes and then roll them in powdered sugar. Delish!

.

The finished product! Someone's already stolen one....

Mine came out a little crumblier than usual, but that’s because I messed up at the grocery store and bought a bag of normal-sized chocolate chips (this is the part where I curse people who put similar looking things in the wrong spot). Nonetheless, they were still good, and I learned that it’s possible (if unwise) to use normal-sized chocolate chips in this recipe.

As for the Jam Thumbprints? Something was wrong with the recipe; I’m pretty sure I needed another couple egg yolks. However, that doesn’t mean I didn’t produce yummy cookies! I just wasn’t able to but the thumbprints in them for holding the jelly (otherwise they’d crumble). I compromised and smeared jelly on the top of the cookies instead, and the one I tried was still rather good! Those are exclusively for my mom (I call it bribery, but it didn’t work, I still had to do all the dishes of the day besides the ones I had already done).

2 Responses to “Muchies are Win: Mexican Wedding Cookies”



Leave a Reply

tweet-a-twitter-twoo?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

something to think about

"You know, I don't know if you'll understand this or not, but sometimes, even when I'm feeling very low, I'll see some little thing that will somehow renew my faith. Something like that leaf, for instance - clinging to its tree despite wind and storm. You know, that makes me think that courage and tenacity are about the greatest values a man can have. Suddenly my old confidence is back and I know things aren't half as bad as I make them out to be. Suddenly I know that with the strength of his convictions a man can move mountains, and I can proceed with full confidence in the basic goodness of my fellow man. I know that now. I know it." ~ End of Act I in the musical You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown.

competing for the house cup

Like what you read? Click here to get the latest posts sent straight to your email!

Join 6 other followers


