The Long and Short of It.

A family enjoying ice cream on a warm spring afternoon.

May 15, 2010; Keene, NH: A family enjoying ice cream on a warm spring afternoon outside Rick's Gormet Ice Cream.

“There’s nothing to writing.  All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein.” ~ Walter Smith.

I spent most of the day yesterday picking out things that I wanted from my grandparents’ house.  My grandmother died a few weeks ago and my grandfather is moving to a furnished apartment in Florida, so everything has to go.  It was so weird, going through things.  The apartment feels like someone is moving out… not like it’s being carved out, which is how it should feel.  I wasn’t upset at all.  I don’t know.  It’s a little morbid, I guess, but I like those sorts of things.  Cleaning up, cleaning out.  Organising.  My steal of the day was a typewriter from the 1950s.  I was typing on it today, for fun.  It’s so cool.  I don’t think I’d like to have to write term papers on it or anything, but I like having it as a luxury item.  I think I just found ribbon for it, too, so my life is basically complete.

Other than that adventure yesterday (I was in the car for five hours.  It stunk) not much has been happening.

I definitely grew to have a new respect for my grandmother.  I still don’t like her, per se, but I respect her more now, after going through her stuff and reading her notes.  It kind of makes me feel bad for not reading all those very long notes she left in birthday cards and stuff.

.

Health ReportHealth Report: Ice cream twice in one day?  YUCK!  I feel crazy fat and yucky.  And I know for a fact that I’m having pizza at work tomorrow.  The plan?  Eat nothing tomorrow but the pizza.  Theoretically, the calories should cancel themselves out.  Had a sweet romantic moment with Bryan last night and found myself feeling ugly and inadequate because of my stomach.  Something here needs to change.  I’m thinking exercise.  And I don’t like it.

.

Words Worth Getting AtWords Worth Getting At: I’m using my typewriter for freewriting.  It’s fun and helps me get my thoughts out.  The catch?  It’s pretty noisy.  But I’m really enjoying using it.  Honestly?  I feel like McGee from NCIS!  Wrote a snapshot today that was randomly pulled out of my head, as well as a letter-ish things about “the writer” and a writing process.  Freewriting, basically.

.

Financi-SmashFinanci-Smash: Yeowch!  Overdrew my checking last week and got slammed with a $25 overdrawn fee, even though I had it set up so that my bank would pull from my savings account.  So that stunk.  Lets not do that again.  Ever.

1 Response to “The Long and Short of It.”


  1. 1 chelliroo May 17, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Ahhh you should do a really artsy type photo of it! I’d like (almost wrote ‘love’!) to see your typewriter! Everytime I see one in an old store I’m just attracted to it like a magnet.


Leave a Reply

tweet-a-twitter-twoo?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

something to think about

"You know, I don't know if you'll understand this or not, but sometimes, even when I'm feeling very low, I'll see some little thing that will somehow renew my faith. Something like that leaf, for instance - clinging to its tree despite wind and storm. You know, that makes me think that courage and tenacity are about the greatest values a man can have. Suddenly my old confidence is back and I know things aren't half as bad as I make them out to be. Suddenly I know that with the strength of his convictions a man can move mountains, and I can proceed with full confidence in the basic goodness of my fellow man. I know that now. I know it." ~ End of Act I in the musical You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown.

competing for the house cup

Like what you read? Click here to get the latest posts sent straight to your email!

Join 6 other followers


