Modern Wonders of the World

Ray and Libby filming the Colour of Magic; Temple.

“Home computers are being called upon to perform many new functions, including the consumption of homework formerly eaten by the dog.” ~ Doug Larsen

Whoever invented the first personal electronic device must’ve thought he was the man.  You know, sometimes I think we’d’ve been better off if we had to write everything by hand.  We’d have hardcopies, at least!  …  Not to mention it would be a lot less wasteful.  And, you know, if I was writing my novel by hand, I wouldn’t’ve almost almost lost the whole thing last night.  A little of me died.  It’s true.  Currently, the Flash Drive of My Life is okay, but my nightmare of a computer isn’t reading it.  I don’t know why, only that I am not amused.

See, everyone is so gung-ho about computers.  Computers are super machines, they can do anything and everything really fast.  If you work with a computer every day with your job then clearly you must know everything to do with any computer in the world every and you can make them do magic tricks.  It’s a lie.  I get so frustrated at work when people look at me as though I’m incompetent because one of our great big super-powered machines is broken.  Machines, according to most people, have two ways of breaking.  The first way, if it isn’t your machine, is by a clumsy operator.  The second way, if it is your machine, is because it was a piece of crap that you were over-charged on anyway and you want your money back and a repair.  Damn it.

Now, sometimes things work out in the end really well.  You get what you want and you get it fast.  That makes computers one of the modern wonders of the world.  It really took genius to invent them.  I’ll give them that credit.  But they are fickle things.  They don’t play well outdoors, they don’t like the sun, they’re self-centered and needy.  Computers are like badly raised, spoiled children.

.

Weather ReportWeather Report: It looks like today is going to be a perfect day.  I’m going to be optimistic.  Not too hot, not too cold, and bright and sunny out!  So far, so good.  I’m still waiting for my thunderstorm, though.

0 Responses to “Modern Wonders of the World”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

something to think about

"You know, I don't know if you'll understand this or not, but sometimes, even when I'm feeling very low, I'll see some little thing that will somehow renew my faith. Something like that leaf, for instance - clinging to its tree despite wind and storm. You know, that makes me think that courage and tenacity are about the greatest values a man can have. Suddenly my old confidence is back and I know things aren't half as bad as I make them out to be. Suddenly I know that with the strength of his convictions a man can move mountains, and I can proceed with full confidence in the basic goodness of my fellow man. I know that now. I know it." ~ End of Act I in the musical You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown.

competing for the house cup

Like what you read? Click here to get the latest posts sent straight to your email!

Join 6 other followers


