Happy Meal!

Everlasting Change Sculpture at the Stormking Art Park, New York.

“Somebody needs a happy meal.” ~ Abby Sciuto to Jethro Gibbs, NCIS S4 Ep. 16.

Some days are nice, and they usually end up being nice on accident.  Today, I woke up positively miffed because of the snow.   Then the day went forward, snow turned to rain, and eventually I had a hot chocolate and stopped noticing.  I gave Justin a ride to a meeting, spent some time with Sammy, and Bryan was wonderful through the whole thing.  Again, I’m proud of him.  He’s doing so well.  Really, it means a lot to me.

WordPress has this nifty feature that gives me my blog stats.  How many people have viewed it, and which pages, from where, et cetera.  On average I get like… four views a day.  It doesn’t count me, either.  It senses I’m logged on and it neutralizes the visit.  So that’s kind of fun.  Makes me feel like there’s someone out there, maybe just trolls, but still… someone.  Sammy’s the only one so far I’ve given the link to.  I haven’t decided who else I trust yet.  Not that I don’t trust people, it’s just… I have a difficult time bearing my soul to other people.  I don’t know why.  I think part of it was because I had a friend flip out at me in high school for being selfish and not caring about others enough and I was making my trivialities bigger than other peoples’ real-life issues.  I’ve tried to forget what she said, but I never could… and every since I’ve been hesitant to open up to people.  I’m sure there’s probably more to it than just her, though.

So I’m sitting here tonight, pretty much at peace.  My back hurts a little (from the way I’m sitting) and Bryan and I are having a mature conversation that isn’t about our relationship.  I’m having a good night.  I think I’m going to shut down, watch some NCIS, and just be happy.

0 Responses to “Happy Meal!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

something to think about

"You know, I don't know if you'll understand this or not, but sometimes, even when I'm feeling very low, I'll see some little thing that will somehow renew my faith. Something like that leaf, for instance - clinging to its tree despite wind and storm. You know, that makes me think that courage and tenacity are about the greatest values a man can have. Suddenly my old confidence is back and I know things aren't half as bad as I make them out to be. Suddenly I know that with the strength of his convictions a man can move mountains, and I can proceed with full confidence in the basic goodness of my fellow man. I know that now. I know it." ~ End of Act I in the musical You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown.

competing for the house cup

Like what you read? Click here to get the latest posts sent straight to your email!

Join 6 other followers


