That’s What Friends are For!

Sean and Eddie Laughing

“Many people will walk in and out of your life, but only true friends will leave footprints in your heart.” ~ Elanor Roosevelt.

Let’s talk about all the best parts about friends.  Friends are tricky creatures.  They take a little piece of your heart with them whether you want them to or not.  I mean, I fully believe that everyone you meet shapes you just a little bit (if not more) but you also have to give a little piece of yourself to them, too.  I think that may be one of the reasons why I’m more inclined to have a few good friends than a lot of not-so-friendish friends.

This is what I love about my friends:

  • Sammy came to hang out with me today even though she’s feeling down.
  • Sean is willing to listen to anything and everything without a single complaint.
  • Sammy always thinks of me in the little things.  Like, I have two nail-polish covered rocks sitting on one of the footstools in my room.  What am I going to do with them?  God knows!  But I love them, because she thought of me and put so much time in them.  The little one’s name is Steve.  Steve made my day last Tuesday.
  • Angela was always there to hit me over the head when I was being dumb.  Did I listen to her?  No.  But she was always there.
  • David is always there to take a walk when I want to clear my mind.  He’s the only person I know that silence isn’t awkward with.  In fact, I dreadfully miss walks with him, because it was always brilliant just getting lost in the darkness, walking down the endless Fillmore roads.
  • Jon used to give the best hugs in the world.  He’s so much bigger than me, warm, and there was always love in his hugs.
  • I can pick up right where I left off with Jon every time I see him.  We’re older, different, but nothing really changes between us.
  • About all of them?  I can be me around them.  No masks.  I trust them.  Which terrifies me, but it’s the truth.

These things are just the beginning.  There’s so much to these people around me.  These are the things that come into my head in five minutes.  They’re all beautiful people and I am utterly blessed that they are willing to share their lives with me.

I’m feeling sentimental.  I tell my friends I love them because I mean it.  I love them to pieces, because they’re like brothers and sisters to me.  I don’t know if they love me love, but I would take a bullet in the head for any one of them.  Because I’d rather die for them than live knowing I could have stopped it.  And I am eternally grateful for the happiness they make me feel.  It’s a rare gift.  People generally would prefer to make each other miserable.

Yet another reason why my friends are so great.

0 Responses to “That’s What Friends are For!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

tweet-a-twitter-twoo?

something to think about

"You know, I don't know if you'll understand this or not, but sometimes, even when I'm feeling very low, I'll see some little thing that will somehow renew my faith. Something like that leaf, for instance - clinging to its tree despite wind and storm. You know, that makes me think that courage and tenacity are about the greatest values a man can have. Suddenly my old confidence is back and I know things aren't half as bad as I make them out to be. Suddenly I know that with the strength of his convictions a man can move mountains, and I can proceed with full confidence in the basic goodness of my fellow man. I know that now. I know it." ~ End of Act I in the musical You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown.

competing for the house cup

Like what you read? Click here to get the latest posts sent straight to your email!

Join 6 other followers


