Once Upon an April Afternoon.

White Flower in Ashuelot Park

“Climb the mountains and get their good tidings.  Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees.  The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop off like autumn leaves.” ~ John Muir

A place to breathe.  Breathing is the most important thing.  I’ve been reminded of that so often lately.  It is my junior year of college and all the world’s a mess.  But it won’t be that way forever, or even for long, I can only hope.  At the moment, my universe is spinning.  There are things I want to say, and feel.  Things I wonder between the lines of working and school and the theatre group I work with (more about them another time- they are utmost on my mind as of late).

For the moment, I am breathing.  Breathing deep and full.  I’m listening to Dracula:  Dead and Loving It blasting from the other room, and watching my troublesome parrot fluff his beautiful feathers.  Listening to the boys giggle like little girls at the movie.  Cody’s never seen it, and Eddie is doing what I do- seeing if he’ll laugh at all the right places.  They’re about to start Rock Band, so we’ll see where it goes from there.  That’s what they’re doing.  What I’m doing, as I type this, is procrastinating on a paper for my Sociology class about Globalization in South Africa.  It’s a five page paper, and I already have two pages written.  I’m not too worried about it.  It will be fine.  I’m pushing through the third page as I type this.

It’s a beautiful day out.  I am constantly amazed by the beauty of this universe, and I am so blessed to be living in a place where I can fully appreciate it, even when I can’t enjoy it personally.  The beautiful lemon-drop sunshine is melting through the windows and leaving the fresh aromas of fresh grass and summertime in my kitchen.  It makes me happy just to know it’s there, and I am grateful for it.

I live in a land of trees and mountains.  I’ve lived here all my life.  I moved to New Hampshire when I was less than a year old, and I’ve been living in Chesterfield itself since I was six.  That’s fourteen years.  When I lived in New York for a year, I cannot begin to say how much I missed the mountains.  I thought because I was going to be in rural New York, the transition would be easy (and welcome- every seventeen-year-old is ready to break away from the confines of parental rule).  But every walk I took, I felt so vulnerable.  I never realised how much those beautiful mountains are like walls, keeping us in, and keeping us safe.  Some people want to escape them, but I need them.  They wrap around my hometown the same way that familiar blanket wraps around you on the coldest of winter nights.

The land here is beautiful.  It is fitting that today is Earth Day:  the world is so alive today.  Birds are chittering, clouds are dancing.  It’s like the land itself knows that today is a day in celebration of it.  I can’t wait to go out and enjoy it.

0 Responses to “Once Upon an April Afternoon.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

tweet-a-twitter-twoo?

something to think about

"You know, I don't know if you'll understand this or not, but sometimes, even when I'm feeling very low, I'll see some little thing that will somehow renew my faith. Something like that leaf, for instance - clinging to its tree despite wind and storm. You know, that makes me think that courage and tenacity are about the greatest values a man can have. Suddenly my old confidence is back and I know things aren't half as bad as I make them out to be. Suddenly I know that with the strength of his convictions a man can move mountains, and I can proceed with full confidence in the basic goodness of my fellow man. I know that now. I know it." ~ End of Act I in the musical You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown.

competing for the house cup

Like what you read? Click here to get the latest posts sent straight to your email!

Join 6 other followers


